content top

Regents Approve Major Academic Reorganization

Five academic colleges will comprise Southeast Missouri State University beginning August 1, 2018, following a major comprehensive reorganization of colleges and departments across Academic Affairs.

The restructuring – the result of an extensive process – was approved in May by the Southeast Board of Regents, bringing to a close a process that began last October. The reorganization is the result of significant budget reductions and the need to realign academic programs with commonality in nature and purpose creating synergies that are believed better serve students. All accreditations, current courses, options and programs are maintained under the new alignment. The Budget Office estimates cost savings of approximately $634,000 resulting from this academic reorganization, which will take effect August 1, 2018.

The reorganization will establish the following five colleges:

  • College of Education, Health and Human Studies
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
  • Harrison College of Business and Computing
  • Holland College of Arts and Media

Occurring concurrently with academic restructuring was an internal restructuring of the existing three departments of the Harrison College of Business.  The size of the Department of Management and Marketing was becoming very large compared to the other two departments.  The faculty voted to restructure the departments to balance the size of each department into a more equitable distribution of majors and faculty.  The result includes the following structure.  Major academic restructuring also brought the Department of Computer Science into the college and the faculty and majors associated with the Fashion and Consumer Studies program is also being moved to the new Department of Marketing.  The name of the college is also being changed as indicated below.


Harrison College of Business and Computing

  • Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Marketing


Leave a Comment