content top

Southeast Students Earn Multiple Awards at Phi Beta Lambda State and National Leadership Conferences

Front row from left to right are Dylan Kennedy, Sam Eby, Skyler Ring, Caleb Koehler and Jonathan Mungle. Back row, from left to right are Rebecca Ott, Alicia Merry, Nicole Bauman, Kylee Stevenson, Allison Karleskint, Kylie Collins and Halley Olveda.


State Leadership Conference

Continuing a tradition of outstanding performance, Southeast Missouri State University students won 30 awards in 24 individual and team events at the State Leadership Conference of Phi Beta Lambda April 6-7 at Ozark Technical College in Springfield, Missouri.

Seventeen members of the Zeta Alpha Lambda chapter of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL) garnered 10 first-place, five second-place, five third-place, three fourth-place, and three fifth-place finishes. Twelve of the students placed high enough to automatically qualify to attend and compete at the National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, June 23-26.

The conference provided students with an opportunity to hear presentations on leadership, network and run for state leadership positions and participate in competitive events. Representatives from 21 chapters across Missouri participated in the business-oriented competitive event portion of the program.

Dylan Kennedy of Catron, Missouri, was recognized for completing the president level of the Career and Membership Achievement Program (CMAP). The CMAP is a comprehensive membership recognition program encompassing PBL projects, goals and programs with special emphasis on career development and preparation for the world of work. Members work independently through three integrated levels of the CMAP: director, executive and president.

The Southeast chapter was awarded first place for the Local Chapter Annual Business Report. The annual report was prepared and submitted by Rebecca Ott of Wentzville, Missouri; Nicole Bauman of Ste. Genevieve, Missouri; Kylee Stevenson of Cape Girardeau, Missouri; and Kennedy. Known as the Hamden L. Forkner Award, this honor recognizes chapters that effectively summarize their year’s activities. The event provides participants with valuable experience in preparing business reports.

The chapter also received the Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit, known as the Hollis and Kitty Guy Award, which recognizes outstanding local chapters that have actively participated in projects and programs identified with the goals of FBLA-PBL. Missouri only has two Gold Seal Chapters each year.

During the conference, students were allowed to run for state leadership positions. Allison Karleskint of Jackson, Missouri, will join the incoming 2018-2019 state officer team as parliamentarian, Southeast students have held state office positions for nine consecutive years.

Results of Southeast students at this year’s state leadership conference are as follows:

First Place:

  • Accounting Principles
    • Kylie Collins of Gallatin, Missouri
  • Business Ethics
    • Sam Eby of St. Peters, Missouri
    • Halley Olveda of Cave In Rock, Illinois
    • Laci Zeidler of Pickneyville, Illinois
  • Computer Applications
    • Mallory Westerman of Chester, Illinois
  • Desktop Publishing
    • Nicole Bauman
    • Rebecca Ott
  • Financial Concepts
    • Kristi Brucker of Oran, Missouri
  • Integrated Marketing Campaign
    • Nicole Bauman
    • Rebecca Ott
    • Skyler Ring of Ste. Genevieve, Missouri
  • Personal Finance
    • Kristi Brucker
  • Public Speaking
    • Dylan Kennedy
  • Sales Presentation
    • Laci Zeidler

Second Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Kylie Collins
  • Cost Accounting
    • Kylie Collins
  • Help Desk
    • Alicia Merry of St. Charles, Missouri
  • Personal Finance
    • Halley Olveda
  • Statistical Analysis
    • Allison Karleskint

Third Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Halley Olveda
  • Computer Applications
    • Allison Karleskint
  • Hospitality Management
    • Alicia Merry
  • Job Interview
    • Rebecca Ott
  • Management Concepts
    • Sam Eby

Fourth Place:

  • Business Presentation
    • Jonathan Mungle of Scott City, Missouri
  • Emerging Business Issues
    • Dylan Kennedy
  • Microeconomics
    • Skyler Ring

Fifth Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Mallory Westerman
  • Entrepreneurship
    • Caleb Koehler of Jackson, Missouri
  • Retail Management
    • Kylee Stevenson


  • Rachel Scott of West Palm Beach, Florida


Front row from left to right are Skyler Ring, Rebecca Ott, and Dylan Kennedy Back row, from left to right are Halley Olveda, Mallory Westerman, Laci Zeidler, Kylie Collins, Nicole Bauman, Alicia Merry, and Allison Karleskint













National Leadership Conference

Ten students from the Zeta Alpha Lambda Chapter at Southeast Missouri State University went to the Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference June 23-26 in Baltimore, MD and competed in fourteen team and individual events.  Seven of the Southeast students received national recognition at the PBL Awards of Excellence on June 26 bringing home eight awards, eleven individual trophies, and $400 in cash awards.  Two other Southeast students also placed in the Top 15 Finals for additional events.

Kylie Collins (Accounting major with a minor in Finance, from Gallatin, MO) earned 3rd place in Accounting Principles.  This event was sponsored by KPMG, LLP and came with a $300 cash award.  Kylie also placed eighth in Accounting Principles.

Mallory Westerman (Accounting major from Chester, IL) earned fourth place in Computer Applications.  Mallory served as Chair of the Finance Committee for 2017-2018, and is the Treasurer for 2018-2019.

Nicole Bauman (Accounting major from Ste. Genevieve, MO) and Rebecca Ott (Hospitality Management major with a minor in Business Administration from Wentzville, MO) placed seventh in Desktop Publishing.  Nicole served as Treasurer for 2017-2018 and is the Reporter for 2018-2019.  Rebecca served as President for 2017-2018 and graduated in May 2018.

Nicole Bauman, Rebecca Ott, and Skyler Ring (Business Economics major with minors in Business Law and Accounting from Ste. Genevieve, MO) earned fifth place in Integrated Marketing Campaign.  This event was sponsored by Squarespace and came with a $100 cash award.  Skyler served as Secretary in 2017-2018 and is the President for 2018-2019.

Halley Olveda (Accounting major from Cave in Rock, IL) placed ninth in Personal Finance.  Halley graduated in May 2018 and is starting her MBA at Southeast this Fall.  She is serving as Vice President for 2018-2019.

Dylan Kennedy (Corporate Communication major with a Management minor, from Catron, MO) placed tenth in Public Speaking.  Dylan served as Vice President in 2017-2018.  He graduated in May 2018 and is now at the Disney College Program in Orlando, FL

Alicia Merry (Mass Communication: Advertising major from St. Charles, MO) placed in the Top 15 Finals in Help Desk.

Halley Olveda and Laci Zeidler (Business Administration major from Pinckneyville, IL) placed in the Top 15 Finals in Business Ethics.  Laci served as Report in 2017-2018 and is the Community Service Committee Chair for 2018-2019.

Allison Karleskint (Business Administration major with a Fashion Merchandising minor, Jackson, MO) competed in multiple events and worked at the conference, greeting and encouraging MO competitors as they prepared for their competitions.  She is Chapter Secretary for 2018-2019 and is also serving as Missouri State Parliamentarian.

The Chapter placed tenth in Local Chapter Annual Report, which was prepared by Rebecca Ott.  The Local Chapter Annual Business Report, known as the Hamden L. Forkner Award, recognizes chapters that effectively summarize their year’s activities.  The event provides participants with valuable experience in preparing business reports.

Leave a Comment